Amy Hoopes


Bachelor of Arts, Education & Psychology. Hampshire College, 2018

Amy tutors students in grades 2 through 10 in Math and Reading & Writing. She is currently pursuing her Master of Social Work at Smith College and works with students aged 14-18 in behavioral health services. She has served as an organizational coach and provides executive functioning support. She has experience working with students with ADHD, ASD, and anxiety/depression/behavioral needs/school avoidance. She enjoys developing personalized curriculum to meet the specific needs of her students.
Amy says: “Hello! My name is Amy and I’m 26 years old.  I studied education and psychology at a unique school called Hampshire College in western Massachusetts, which measures academic achievement through written evaluations rather than grades and GPA’s.  Hampshire College allows students to create their own ‘concentrations’ which is similar to a major, except it’s shaped by the student with help from their advisors.  I became interested in studying education and psychology after attending a private high school, and realizing how much the competitive aspect of academia was impacting my motivation to learn.  I recognized, during my senior year, that I was so hyper-focused on my performance in school that I had forgotten the true purpose of learning – to discover one’s passions and place in the world.  This led me to complete a year of service with City Year AmeriCorps, where I taught eighth-grade Pre-Algebra at an inner-city school in Miami before heading off to college.  Since then, I have devoted my career to learning about the intersections of mental health and education, and how to create academic spaces that meet students wherever they’re at.  I am currently in the process of earning my master’s degree in clinical social work from Smith College in Northampton, MA, while offering academic and mental health support to students in my spare time.  When I’m not engaged in this work, I enjoy rock climbing, playing guitar and baking yummy treats to share with my family and friends.  I also enjoy running – having recently completed my third half marathon – and going on hikes with my parent’s two dogs, Riley and Henry.  During non-pandemic times, I love to travel and explore new cultures, and I’m hoping someday to return to Southeast Asia where I studied abroad in college.  If  you have any questions about me, please don’t hesitate to reach out.  I look forward to hearing from you soon! “